Press "Enter" to skip to content

Faculty and staff recognized for years of service at annual Employee Recognition Luncheon

The University of Maine’s annual Employee Recognition Luncheon took place in the Wells Conference Center on Tuesday, April 23. The luncheon recognized and honored faculty and staff who were celebrating 25, 35 or 45 years of service to UMaine as well as those who had been selected as outstanding employees.

The afternoon brought employees and staff from all departments together to enjoy brunch and socialize before the awards ceremony commenced.

“Today your leaders want to be with you to celebrate with you and say to you we recognize your continuity of your commitment. We appreciate and value your service,” Provost Jeffrey Hecker said in his opening remarks.

President Joan Ferrini-Mundy was unable to attend the event. However, she left a short video thanking all employees for their commitment to the university and explained that their efforts are really what makes UMaine the “college of our hearts always.”

The Outstanding Classified Employee this year was Sheri Hill, an administrative specialist in the Naval ROTC.

In order to qualify for this award this employee “must have inspired others through their dedication, commitment and work ethic, have provided outstanding service to their department and created a better environment for the employees, students and the campus community,” according to Chris Lindstrom, vice president for Human Resources, in the presentation of the award.

For the Outstanding Professional Employee Award, the employee must show a dedication to serving others, help create a better campus environment and show significant contributions to their field or the community. Betsy Rose, publication specialist of the National Poetry Foundation was announced as this year’s recipient.

The Steve Gould Award recipient this year was Janet May from the Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies. The award is presented to a member of the UMaine community who has “demonstrated superior qualities of unselfishness and compassion in the course of serving UMaine and its ideals.”

The award was created in 1981 by the family and friends of Steve Gould in memory of “a man of honest and passionate concern for others.”

The last of the employee recognition awards was the Outstanding Research Administrator, which was established this year. It aims to recognize staff that support the advancement of the university research enterprise. Betty Lee of the Climate Change Institute was this year’s recipient.

The second portion of the ceremony was to honor those who with several years of commitment and service to the University of Maine. The university recognized 20 employees who were celebrating 25 years of service, 12 employees for 34 years of service, and three employees — Nathan Emerson with Facilities Management, Michael Sucy of Auxiliary Services, and Susan York of the University of Maine Police Department — for 45 years with UMaine.

Following the recognition of service, everyone in attendance was thanked again by Provost Hecker for all they do for the campus community.

Get the Maine Campus' weekly highlights right to your inbox!
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Secure and Spam free...