Press "Enter" to skip to content

Entering the Hall

One of the most prestigious honors an athlete can receive is gaining the recognition to be inducted into their team’s Hall of Fame. Let’s take a look at some of the inductees who will proudly join the University of Maine’s Hall of Fame. The following nine inductees that will represent the class of 2023 include Jim Boylen, Cal Ingraham, Annabelle Hamilton, Stacey Porrini, Alexis Souhlaris, Anthony Wright, the 1959-1960 men’s basketball team, and the undefeated football teams of 1951 and 1961. 

Jim Boylen (1984-1987)  played for the Black Bear basketball team and was a first-team selection as a fourth-year. He also tallied 100 or more assists in his final three seasons at UMaine. Boylen’s success did not stop there, as he began a coaching career after he was done playing. He had assistant roles with multiple NBA franchises, including Houston, Utah, Milwaukee, Indiana, Golden State and Chicago. In 2018, he was promoted to head coach of the Chicago Bulls, where he coached for three years. 

Cal Ingraham (1991-1994), a first-line player on the 1992-1993 Men’s Ice Hockey national championship team, finished his career with 73 goals and 86 assists. After an All-American second-team selection in 1992-1993, Ingraham continued his professional career playing in the ECHL for seven years with the Tallahassee Tiger Sharks and the Idaho Steelheads. The Steelheads honored Ingraham after his retirement by making him the only player in franchise history to have their number retired. 

Annabelle Hamilton (2011-2014) was a three-time America East first selection for field hockey. Hamilton leaves a legacy as one of only two Black Bears to earn multiple National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) selections to the third team in 2013 and second team in 2014. Hamilton was also named America East Offensive Player of the Year in 2012. 

Stacey Porrini (1993-1997), a three-time America East basketball player with a career record of 91-26 at UMaine, holds multiple records throughout the program. Porrini is second in career blocks at UMaine and currently holds the records for most blocks in a game (7),  most blocks in a season (79) and most rebounds in an NCAA Tournament game (13). She’s also a member of the prestigious 1,000 Point Club and was inducted into the Bristol, Connecticut Hall of Fame in 2016. After a valiant battle against breast cancer, Porrini passed away in 2018, leaving her incredible legacy behind. 

Alexis Souhlaris (2006-2010) was an NCAA Northeast All-American softball player in 2009 who also took home America East Player of the Year in the same year. During that 2009 season, Souhlaris stuffed the stat sheet, hitting .397, 12 home runs, 48 runs, 32 RBI and 25 stolen bases. At her time of graduation, Souhlaris held records for most stolen bases in a season (30), most stolen bases in a career (94), most hits in a season (83), and most hits in a career (249). 

Anthony Wright (1994-1998) registered 79 receptions in the 1996 campaign for 1,143 yards on his way to being named an Associated Press (AP) All-American. Wright led the Black Bears in receiving in 1996 and 1997, totaling 167 receptions and 2,312 yards over the two seasons. Wright set and still holds the record for most catches in a season (88) in 1997. 

The 1959-1960 men’s basketball team holds the record for the highest win percentage in program history (.826). They finished with a perfect State Series record of 9-0, led by current UMaine Sports Hall of Famers Wayne Champeon, Skip Chappelle, Larry Schiner and Don Sturgeon. 

The 1951 football team were victors of the Yankee Conference Championship and the State Series Championship with an overall record of 6-0-1. They are currently only one of two teams in the program’s history to go undefeated for an entire year and will always be known for starting the year with three consecutive shutouts on their way to four for the season. 

The 1961 football team currently holds the record for the highest winning percentage for a season (.944) on their way to a 8-0-1 overall record. Much like the 1951 football team, they were champions of the State Series Championship and Yankee Conference Championship. The team featured individual Hall of Famers Dave Cloutier and quarterback Manch Wheeler. Wheeler became the first quarterback in the program’s history to play professionally. 

The Class of 2023 was officially inducted on Friday, Sept. 29 at the ceremony in Brewer, Maine.

Get the Maine Campus' weekly highlights right to your inbox!
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Secure and Spam free...