Press "Enter" to skip to content

Black Bears beat the Bulldogs at Bates on Saturday

On Saturday, the men and women’s indoor track and field teams took the road, traveling to Bates College to compete in a meet against Bryant University. The men’s team beat the Bryant Bulldogs 125-60, placing first in 14 events, seven of which they logged the top two runners.

The Black Bears started the meet off strong when third-year Mozai Nelson took place in the 60 meter dash with a time of 7.02 seconds. He was followed by Bryant’s second-year Evan Smith with a time of 7.24 seconds and fellow Black Bear second-year Andrew Smith with a time of 7.29 seconds.

Nelson also placed first in the 200-meter dash with a time of 22.79 seconds. First-year Jake Osborn took second place for the Black Bears with a time of 23.07 and graduate student Joseph Slattery took third place with a time of 23.56.

Bryant outran the Black Bears in the 400 and 600-meter runs with second-year Alec Binette winning the 400-meter with a time of 52.75 and first-year Christopher Wrenn winning the 600-meter with a time of 1:24.71.

Maine came back in the 800-meter run, taking first place in first-year Roger Quehl with a time of 1:58.86, beating Bryant’s fourth-year Milan Duka by a little over one second. Bryant’s fourth-year Alexander Evans came in first in the 1,000-meter run with a time of 2:38.69, 10 seconds before Black Bear first-year Jacob Bloom.

The Black Bears also took first place in the 1-mile run, the 3,000 meter run and the 5,000 meter run. First-year Colin Tardiff came in first in the one-mile with a time of 4:26.66, while fourth-year Justin Tracy took first place in the 5,000-meter with a time of 15:29.39. The Black Bears competed unopposed in the 3,000-meter run with redshirt fourth-year Jesse Orach taking first with a time of 8:38.88, 10 seconds ahead of second place third-year Joshua Horne.

The Black Bear’s 4 by 400-meter relay team of Osborn, third-year Elijah Yeboah, third-year Isaac Yeboah and third-year Garrett Johnson took first place with a time of 3:27.75

For the men’s shot put, the Black Bears took the first five places. Fourth-year Jeremy Frantz came in first place with a throw of 15.23 meters. He was followed by first-year Isaiah Brooks, redshirt first-year Thomas Murray, third-year Adam Lufkin and first-year Curtis McLeod. Many of these shot-putters came back in the weight throw, with Maine taking the first four places. First-year Shane Corbett took first place with a throw of 15.56 meters. Murray took second place with a throw of 15.44 meters, followed by Brooks and first-year Jacob Stanko.

Other notable finished for the men were Elijah Yeboah taking first in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.81 seconds, fourth-year Assad Hicks taking first in the High Jump with a jump of 1.96 meters, third-year Alecsander Wortman taking first in the Pole Vault with a jump of 4.40 meters, first-year Troy Davis taking first in the triple jump with a jump of 13.42 meters and first-year Erick Seekins taking first place in the long jump, with a jump of 6.21 meters.

On the women’s side, the Black Bears defeated the Bulldogs 111-65, placing first in 10 different events.

Bryant’s first-year Emily Cluck placed first in the 60-meter dash with a time of 7.96. She was followed by two Black Bears, second-year Ariel Clachar and first-year Cassidy Hill with times of 7.98 and 8.02 respectively. In the 200-meter dash, the Black Bears took the top three spots. Second-year Lauren Magnuson placed first with a time of 25.93, while Clachar and Hill came in second and third once again, with times of 26.70 and 26.79.

The Black Bears continued the point gaining into the 400 meter dash, when fourth-year Teal Jackson placed in the first and only scoring place of the event after third-year Alexis Dietrich was disqualified. Teal Jackson’s winning time was 1:00.75.

Bryant placed first in the 600-meter, 800-meter and 1,000 meter. First-year Jacklyn Sullivan placed first in the 600-meter with a time of 1:40.11, third-year Melissa Lodge placed first in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:17.39 and first-year Olivia Weiss placed first in the 1,000 with a time of 3:06.86.

The Black Bears came back to sweep the 1-mile run and the 3,000 meter run. In the 1-mile, first-year Alison Wyman placed first with a winning time of 5:32.78. She was followed by fourth-year Tiana Bibb and fourth-year Hannah Stefl with times of 5:45.43 and 5:47.63 respectively. Third-year Hope Gardner won the 3,000-meter for the Black Bears, with a winning time of 11:04.55, followed by teammate second-year Abigail Smith with a time of 13:18.91.

Maine placed first in all of the field events with the exception of the Weight Throw. Fourth-year Grace MacLean placed first with a throw of 1.66 meters, followed by fellow Black Bears third-year Tia Jackson and second-year Vasiliqi Turlla with throws of 1.52 meters and 1.42 meters respectively. Second-year Taylor Lenentine placed first in the pole vault with a final height of 3.05 meters, while second-year Ariel Clachar placed first in the long jump with a distance of 5.45 meters. In the shot put, fourth-year Ashley Donohoe placed first with a distance of 12.33 meters.

Maine competed unopposed in the Triple Jump, with four Black Bears competing in the event. First-year Lucy Guarnieri came in first with a jump of 10.61 meters. She was closely followed by Tia Jackson with a jump of 10.08 meters, fourth-year Idalis Arce with a jump of 9.50 meters and second-year Jaycee Cushman with a jump of 9.09 meters.

For the relays, Maine’s team of Dietrich, Teal Jackson, Magnuson and first-year Britany Torchia ran unopposed in the 4 by 400-meter relay with a time of 4:06.03. Bryant placed first in the 4 by 800-meter relay with a winning time of 9:42.06. Their team was made up of third-year Sarah Lapham, Lodge, Weiss and Sullivan.

UMaine and Bryant will both return to action when they travel to Boston University for the Women’s Terrior Classic on Friday, Jan. 27. The meet is scheduled to begin at 2 p.m.

Get the Maine Campus' weekly highlights right to your inbox!
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Secure and Spam free...